© 2017 The Fact Finder

auf Deutsch

TENTACLES 4/4.1
"BRIDGESCRATCHING"

Kg Augenstern (Christiane Prehn and Wolfgang Meyer)

Opening 2 March 2018, at 19:00 o'clock

Only a few hundred years ago it was essential for the surviving of mankind to have the ability to identify the sound of an animal while hunting, to distinguish the sound of galloping farm cattle from the sound of an enemy approaching. Nowadays we are exposed to an increasing stream of noise. It’s becoming harder and harder to find places where it is possible to identify a certain sound because everything drowns in a cacophony of traffic, construction sites, factory noise emissions and sounds of many other sources.

In some way, bridges provide a protection against this noise. At the same time, they have their own sound which can be their echo, like an inner monologue, or the sound that results from their interaction with a ship passing underneath.

The artist duo Kg Augenstern (Christiane Prehn and Wolfgang Meyer) has developed a way to “provoke” and record the sound of a bridge, summed up as The Tentacles Project. From their home, the boat Anuschka, they scratch the undersides of bridges across European rivers, using multiple carbon fibre tentacles installed on the deck, thus collecting the sound profile of the bridge they underpass with their ship. Each of these profiles is unique. At The Fact Finder, the duo will present fragments of their cumulated bridgesounds experience, showing two kinetic installations and, for the built-in archive of the space, a special edition of bridge scratches).

On their boat, Anuschka, (their permanent home), the two have been sailing since 2014 the European waterways, reaching by now France, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxemburg and Germany. While passing under the bridges, carbon-fibre made tentacles installed on Anuschka’s deck scratch the bridges’ undersides, making the bridge reveal its sound. Each one of the bridges has its own personal sound profile. The low ones in big cities, like Berlin, have a robust echo, mixed with the broader urban soundscape, while the smaller bridges in nature develop a somehow transparent and pure sound. These bridgescracthing sounds are recorded, archived and published in the mobile web-application "SoundWays", a continually growing bridge-sound cartography.

Various aspects of the Tentacles concept are constantly transformed and shown in galleries and contemporary art spaces as audio-kinetic installations, live streams from the ship, radio broadcasts or multichannel sound installations.

For their exhibition at The Fact Finder, Kg Augenstern will present two kinetic installations and a special edition of bridge scratches, inside the built-in archive of the space.

Christiane Prehn (Dipl. Art, University of fine arts Stuttgart) is an artist, sculptor and film director. Her works have been shown at Thessalonica Biennale 2008, New York Fruit and Flower Gallery 2008, Museum of Modern Art Den Haag 2009, Glasmuseum Amsterdam 2009. She’s the winner of "Akademiepreise der Akademie der bildenden Künste Stuttgart" in 2005, 2006 and 2008.

Wolfgang Meyer is a musician, sound artist and videomaker. His work "Babylon Klangbasar, Live-sampling Soundscapes" was shown in places like IfA Galerie Stuttgart 2006 and Ostseefestival Stralsund 2007, and his sound performance „the boat sounds“ was presented in Berlin, Paris, Amsterdam, Thessaloniki and at Art Biennale Istanbul (2009/2010).

© 2017 The Fact Finder

in English

TENTACLES 4/4.1
"BRIDGESCRATCHING"

Kg Augenstern (Christiane Prehn and Wolfgang Meyer)

Eröffnung: 2. März 2018 um 19:00 Uhr
Ausstelung: 3.-13. März, Di-Fr 16:00-19:00 Uhr

Es ist erst einige hundert Jahren her, da war die Fähigkeit beim Jagen eine Tierart an ihren Geräuschen zu erkennen, oder den Lärm einer galoppierenden Viehherde vom Klang sich annähernder Feinde unterscheiden zu können noch überlebenswichtig für die Menschheit. Heutzutage sind wir einem ständig anwachsendem Strom von Lärm ausgesetzt. Es wird immer schwieriger Orte zu finden, wo wir einzelne Geräusche klar identifizieren können, da sie in einer Kakophonie aus Verkehrslärm, Baustellenkrach, Fabrikgeräuschemissionen und Klängen aus zahllosen anderen Quellen untergehen.
Auf eine bestimmte Art und Weise bieten Brücken einen Schutzraum gegen diesen Lärm. Gleichzeitig haben sie ihren eigenen Klang, der sowohl ihr Echo (wie ein innerer Monolog) sein kann, als auch das Zusammenspiel mit einem Schiff, welches sie durchfährt.

Das Künstlerduo Kg Augenstern (Christiane Prehn und Wolfgang Meyer) hat einen Weg gefunden, den Klang von Brücken hervorzurufen und zu dokumentieren, und dies unter dem Namen The Tentacles Project zusammengefasst.

Mit ihrem Schiff Anuschka (ihrem festen Zuhause) bereisen die beiden im Rahmen des Projektes seit 2014 europäische Wasserstraßen, bisher in Frankreich, den Niederlanden, Belgien, Luxemburg und Deutschland. Beim Unterqueren der Brücken kratzen an Bord installierte Kohlefasertentakel an der Unterseite der Brücken und bringen so ihren speziellen Klang zur Entfaltung. Jede der Brücken hat ihr eigenes, individuelles Klangprofil. Niedere Brücken in großen Städten wie Berlin haben ein klares Echo, welches sich mit dem städtischen Klangteppich vermischt, während kleinere Brücken in der Natur eine Art von transparentem und klarem Klang entfalten. Diese bridgescratching Klänge werden aufgezeichnet und fortlaufend in der mobilen App SoundWays veröffentlicht. So entsteht eine ständig wachsende Klangkartographie.

Die vielfältigen Aspekte des Tentacles Konzeptes werden ständig transformiert und in Galerien und anderen Orten für zeitgenössische Kunst in Form von audiokinetischen Installationen, Livestreams vom Schiff, Radiosendungen oder Mehrkanalklanginstallationen gezeigt.
Für die Ausstellung im Fact Finder präsentiert Kg Augenstern zwei kinetische Installationen und zusätzlich eine Sonderedition von Brückenkratzern im hauseigenen Archiv.

Christiane Prehn (Dipl.Art der Akademie der Künste Stuttgart) ist Konzeptkünstlerin, Bildhauerin und Regisseurin. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem bei der Thessaloniki Biennale 2008, der Fruit and Flower Gallery New York 2008, im Museum of Modern Art Den Haag 2009 und im Glasmuseum Amsterdam 2009 gezeigt. 2005, 2006 und 2008 erhielt sie den Akademiepreis in Stuttgart.

Wolfgang Meyer ist Musiker, Klangkünstler und Videomacher. Seine Arbeit Babylon Basar Livesampling Soundscapes wurde unter anderem in der IfA Galerie Stuttgart und beim Ostseefestival Stralsund aufgeführt. Die Klangperformance ’the boat sounds’ zeigte er unter anderem in Berlin, Amsterdam, Paris, Thessaloniki und bei der Biennale Istanbul (2009-2010).